top of page

Books Read in 2016

Hello, hello. A new year is usually the time where we set goals and then screw it up later. Yes, it happens to me like all the time. And one goal that I set that I screw up so bad is my reading goals. Last year, I set my reading goals to 35 books in a year. Well, it's a lot of books. But I thought I am a quite fast reader and I thought I could fulfill that goal. I was confident the first few months but ended up not reading a lot around the last six months. But I did read 11 books through out last year. So now I am going to list it as well give a little thought about it, just to also document it so I won't forget =D

1. Looking For Alaska by John Green

This book for me gives me a look on an adventure of college life in dorms. It gives also a story of great friendship and a look on romance too.

2. Lima Sekawan: Rahasia Di Pulau Kirrin / Five on Kirrin Island Again by Enid Blyton

This series has been my favorite since I was in elementary. And this book is very adventurous which I really like. It shows the minds of young adults making decisions on their own of their own adventure. I always feel like I am also part of their adventure. They also have plot twists that are so fun to read. I read the Indonesian version of this so yeah, obviously some words and sentences are kind of awkward.

3. Perahu Kertas by Dee Lestari

Okay, I have never fallen in love with books of Indonesian writers but this book made me fall in love with it so bad. I couldn't take off my eyes of that book. The relationship between Kugy and Keenan was so adorable, I squeal excitedly every time.

4. Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

Fangirl describes me best. Since I am a total fangirl too, I can relate on how Cath feels and acts. The story gives out funny parts yet also romantic and emotional ones too. I really love it.

5. Fire with Fire by Jenny Han

Jenny Han is my favorite contemporary writer. I've been loving her books since the To All The Boys I Loved Before book. And this Burn for Burn series got me hooked up. I read this on a vacation with my family and this really played a role in making the vacation great. I was ended with a cliff hanger for the end of the book which made me want to buy the next book while on vacation. And somehow, as far as I read, I've been loving every lead guy character that she created. Peter Kavinsky and this one Reeve Tabatsky. Love them both!

6. The Secret Life of Amanda K. Woods by Ann Cameron

As soon as I read this book, I already found someone who seems to be like Amanda in this story. I really love Amanda because she isn't perfect and everything. She's fun and brings me into her adventures.

7. Memories by Lang Leav

I have been reading Lang Leav's emotional poems and proses on line. And I have been loving it but haven't bought her book. I finally bought this book and I would never regret it. The deep feelings it gives me really was... I can't express it with words. I get the feel of every writings on each page.

8. Without You There Is No Us by Suki Kim

The great part of this reading process is actually meeting the author when I am in the middle of reading it. This non fiction novel gives me look on the world that I haven't experience. It's really touching and thrilling.

9. Midah Si Manis Bergigi Emas by Pramoedya Anantar Toer

Honestly, I do not really enjoy reading this book. It has some parts that I do not feel comfortable with. And I notice a lot of punctuation errors in this book, so yeah.

10. The Year of Luminous Love by Lurlene McDaniel

This book at first wasn't quite interesting for me to read (since I actually bought this because there's a end of the year clearance sale on the bookstore). But as I read through it, I start to grow more interest. The plot twist and every thing are great. Too sad that the end part they didn't get to be with any of the guys they love. Oops, spoilers!

11. Ashes To Ashes by Jenny Han

I finally get to satisfy my curious mind of the last book with the ending of this series. I get to say that the last book is more paranormal in a way. But I enjoyed it so much. However though, not a big fan of the ending since it is so not satisfying.

So that's the eleven books that I read through last year. This year, again, I am setting a impossible goal slash mistake like last year. 35 books to read. So far, I've already finished reading one book so that's great!

XOXO,

Nicole Theone

Hey! Welcome to my blog! :)

UPDATES every now and then, you'll never know when!
RECENT POST
JOIN MY MAILING LIST
bottom of page