top of page

November 2016 Favorites

November has ended. December here I come! So from the last month, I picked up some favorites. I picked up and got new things that started to become something I like, my favorites. So here are just somethings that I start to like from this past month.

First things first, I am really in awe (still do btw) of this book by Joel Osteen. I kind of do it as my daily devotion. I read it everyday and reflect on it. It really is a motivation. It is called Your Best Life Now.

This book though might not give you much Scriptures if you would be looking for that, but it is actually Scripture based but packed in a more simple and interesting way which is easier to understand. I learned a lot from this might. I may or may not be writing about this book in a future post :) But if you're looking for an inspirational, light read which motivates and gives inspiring views, you might want to pick this book up.

Next, still with books, is this book Without You, There Is No Us written by Suki Kim. I've seen her talk in TED Talks and her story was inspiring. Last October, I got really lucky and were able to meet her in Ubud Writers and Readers Festival. I even got my book signed. The store about how the North Koreans live, it is really eye opening. It made me realize how lucky I am to be born not in North Korea where everything they believed in was a lie and lives were so controlled and watched. I really enjoyed the book it was a fun yet inspiring read.

Another book is a book that I have actually put down before because another book seem to interest me more (I'm sorry *cry*). It is called The Year of Luminous Love by Lurlene McDaniel. This book is more teen and love story kind of story. It changes between the point of view of Ciana, Arie, and Eden with their different family and personal backgrounds. I haven't read it until the end though. But I am quite confident with the end of the story. I read some reviews saying that some scenes are quite inappropriate but I don't really find any inappropriate things yet in where I am reading currently. But I am really liking the story right now, I liked it since I first read it but something more interesting came up (yeah, great excuse Nicole) that made me put it down for awhile. But I reread it and I am loving it.

I guess now it's time to move on to something I just got two weeks ago and I am loving it. I have wanted to get it for a long time but I finally got it. It's a beauty blender! My beauty blender isn't the pear shaped one, or a rounded bottom tear drop one. It looks more like 'Real Techniques' beauty blender but in a tear drop shape. It's kind of flat and I am loving it. It spread out the bb cream I use very well. Really love it. It's very easy to clean and wash too. I tried it already and when I washed it, it was as good as new. And no, I didn't get it for very expensive. I bought it in an accessories shop in the mall and it cost Rp 60.000,- (which is about $4.5 US Dollar) for 5 pieces of it and they're all quite big. I even got a container for it. So it was quite a good deal.

Next up, I ran out of one of the most expensive cream or moisturizer around last October. So I bought this really cheap cream but does it works well. I don't really see the difference between the Rp 500.000,- cream and a Rp 20.000,- cream. It works the same for me. Even the Olay All in One Fairness Day Cream can moisturize my face well. I got a small packaging one for the Rp 20k one but bought a bigger container which cost about Rp 50k. And yeah, it works well for me and I really like it.

Now to movies. I am obsessed, freaking obsessed with K-dramas as you know. I am currently watching The Legend of The Blue Sea. Now still in episode 4 but I am already loving it. Well, I am not very obsessed with it but I like it. Starring Lee Min Ho and Jeon Ji Hyun. The setting is back in the Joseon era but also in the modern days or nowadays time. It's hilarious and fun. And Lee Min Ho looks good in it (as usual, wtf, lol ignore me).

At first, I hesitated watching this series because I do not really like Joen Ji Hyun and the thought of Lee Min Ho and Jeon Ji Hyun, I just didn't like it. But after watching it though, Jeon Ji Hyun must be a really fun person. Up to episode 4, I am still liking it. So I really expect well until the end. And not exaggerating but Park Jin Young aka GOT7 Jin Young (or known as Jr.) is in it! Well he appeared only about 5 freaking seconds (read: minutes). It was so quick. But rumors though, it said to be that Jin Young made the ratings go slightly up. I don't know if it's true but that's just what people say.

Another series that I am currently watching and really loving is.... Weightlifting Fairy Kim Bok Joo!!! Oh my gerd, I can't tell you how obsessed I am with Nam Joo Hyuk. He is so good looking. (obsession detected since ending the Scarlet Heart Ryeo series. warning: it may get you hooked up too) And in this series he is the guy lead character with Lee Sung Kyung which I also really like. I think in this series, Lee Sung Kyung brought out the character well, she acted well since she looks way different from what I thought her to be.

So in this series, Kim Bok Joo (Lee Sung Kyung), a weightlifter, is like a bright girl who has a strong seek of justice. She and her friends are like the not popular girls with no boyfriends. Jung Joon Hyung (Nam Joo Hyuk) is a swimmer, a charming guy that has some problems with numerously false start disqualifications. And Bok Joo and Joon Hyung have some hilarious relationship. This drama is very funny and light for me. So I really enjoy it a lot. Especially with a good looking view right there, hehehe...

Lately I have been trying to be more broad and not too focused on my Korean obsession. So I started to try watching animes. Yeah, animes. These are some romantice animes that I just recently watched and I really liked. I tried to find animes that aren't very exposing in a way, not too many magical superpower whatever things like that but more of a love story normal life one.

Your Lie in April. I found that one and thought I'd try to watch it. The first reason I wanted to watch it was that actually and honestly because they said it was going to be made into a K-drama which Park Chanyeol EXO will be starring at. So I wanted to know the real version first. So I tried it out and I loved it. The episodes are pretty short, not like K-dramas, which I really like since I can watch more.

The story is about a former pianist, well actually he just didn't want to play the piano anymore due to a traumatic mental breakdown. Then he met a free-spirited violinist who played music freely, showing her personality through her music. He became inspired by her to play more uplifitingly if that is a word and finally realized he loved her.

The other one is Ao Haru Ride or Blue Spring Ride. The story is about a girl who liked a boy if I wasn't mistaken in like middle school but then this guy transferred to another school. This girl wasn't a cute, feminine girl you typically think of but more of a tomboyish one. One day unexpectedly, the guy then transferred back to her school some time later with a different name and that totally changed her life.

Few days ago, my cousin asked me if I watched Doctor Who or any British series, which I don't. I tried watching Doctor Who and I got to be honest, I dislike it. I tried another British series which is more to my style.

The title is Victoria. It's about the 18 year old Queen Victoria when she was first got to the throne and her life and stuffs like that. And this is more to my liking, haha. I am no Sci-fi person so don't expect me to be. Haha...

Moving on to songs. CBX was out on October 31st so it has been on my fav playlist during the past month. I really enjoy the new style they seem to bring. Chen, Baekhyun, Xiumin fits perfectly together. Their songs are bomb, styles are bomb, everything are bomb.

Look at them! Chen kinda get a new style here. He looks less like a dinosaur than he used to be. LOL. Looking forward to the Chanyeol and Kyungsoo sub-unit rumors that went out... SM, I am waiting. Hahaha

Christmas is soon! So since November, I've been listening to Christmas playlists especially Pentatonix That's Christmas To Me. Even though it was two years ago, but it still sounded good to my ear.

I really love their voices. It's beautiful. It makes me feel Christmasy when most people I know just ended the halloween vibe. So yeah....

These are just some of my favorites. I will be doing monthly favorites from now on. Look forward to the next months. Bye!!

XOXO,

Nicole Theone :)

Hey! Welcome to my blog! :)

UPDATES every now and then, you'll never know when!
RECENT POST
JOIN MY MAILING LIST
bottom of page